Ferrotype

£7bn 363 colleges 4.2m learners 263,257 staff

EMA cocks your snook?

I know what I think about EMAs but I wasn’t not sure what students think about them, so went to The Student Room where students say what they think, to find out.

”]

An interesting mix of lofty learning eg Poor Law Amendment Act

“Can anyone tell me where I am perhaps going wrong, or recommend any websites or books for me to read?

Any other help would also be much appreciated.

Ill rep the most helpful and all that

If I could, I’d help out – so that I could get “repped and all that”

And there is much more like

“found boyfriend’s profile on a dating website”

and of course “Revision Notes” which would be helpful for eg Performing Arts students doing an assignment on , say, 19th Century Theatre

and what do students think about EMA?

There are a fair number of discussion threads about EMAs –

EMA discussion threads - click to enlarge

To take one of these, and follow it through — one thread started on 11 January 2010 when Danjm08 reported that he was having problems with his EMA bonus, which wouldn’t be paid because he hadn’t ben able to hand in a piece of work on his deadline, which happened to be a snow closure day.

78 people have responded so far, giving a sample of how young people regard EMAs

RollerBall [“I got mad skillz”]  shot off an almost immediate “Boo Hoo”; and AGalloway with “put a firework in their exhaust, then the day after just hint that you know what happened, and what may happen. Extortion works”

To which Danjm08 sensibly replies “That’s not helping. Please don’t make my problem seem trivial, this money actually does mean a lot to my family. By looking at your other posts you seem to like putting people down a lot. I’m just asking nicely, don’t comment if it’s not useful”

Nick_000 is still in dismissive mode “£100 just for attending school!? **** me!”

But then the more considered discussion starts

Street_Lovin’ “Well, I am not an EMA student, but I don’t think the EMA bonus of £100 is fr just attending the school. =) It it true for ”some” school but for most of the school, you need to achieve a certain requirements – 100% Attendance, Outstanding Behaviour and Excellent Academic Progress”

Isabobble “I get EMA and it’s a LOT of hassle. If a teacher forgets to take the register for one lesson, you lose your EMA for the whole week. You then have to chase up the teacher, get them to sign a note to say you were really there, then get a head of year to countersign it to prove that the teacher isn’t lying, then hope that the EMA co-ordinator can be arsed to give you the money.

In addition you’re only ‘allowed’ three days of illness per year, and these have to be followed up with a form, letter from a parent and/or doctor and authorised by the head of year. All work must also be handed in on time and days out for school trips/extra curricular stuff always end up making you lose out on a week of EMA. Etc. etc. etc.

I’m not complaining about getting money, I appreciate it a great deal. But I think it’s unfair of people to complain that it’s ‘money for nothing’ – I know at my school it would be a whole lot easier to be one of the people who don’t get it.”

The chosennerf “To be honest, a LOT more is expected of us EMA eligible students than the others. I have to turn up for a five minute registration period when I have no lessons at all, all day. I have to stay behind every single lesson to check that I’ve been marked in. In my school, I have to attend assembly and prayer sessions when I’m likely to be the only person there. I can’t go home if I’m ill, and if I do get permission to stay off, I have to ring up every day I’m off to confirm I’m still ill. I have to go to registration during study leave, along with about six other people, while all my friends are still asleep.

My school places a huge focus on school trips which are very expensive and since my mam can’t afford to help me out with these in any way, the £30 our EMA co-ordinator dishes out when she feels like it and the two £100 a year bonuses have to cover these, along with my dinner money, bus pass, clothes, and anything else I need for the full year. Not to mention the fact that if I’m off for half term/holidays, it takes three weeks to sort out the payments again.

I’m just saying, it’s not “free money” – we have to work our backsides off to get it – and a lot of people (myself included) couldn’t attend college without it

But Dinks169 is unconvinced “Stop whinging about not getting free money for your free education”

and then a fairly vicious argument ” It seems so very bitter when people with a higher family income berate those who earn less”

until the moderator letsdothetimewarpagain kicks in with “May I remind people that this is not a debate about EMA, if you want to argue other whether it’s good or not please do it elsewhere”

But of course, that doesn’t stop comment

Crazylady26 “As far as I’m concerned if you’re prepared to put the extra effort in to get ema then fair enough, but there’s plenty who work hard and turn up etc that don’t get extra money (even if their family is not that supportive or well off), so you cant really complain that you lose your money when to be honest, you are the one who left it to the last minute”

And DJ AgniesZKaA “Free money yes. yes it is.
a) id go to school anyway.
b) the £30 quid i get weekly means i can go out more and pay my iphone bill.
this is the same for 90% of ema people i know.
im happy to accept the free money though, because this government taxes me to **** so if its in their intention or not, il have as much back as i can possibly get my hands on, thanks”

Spaceman5000 : I don’t know why so many people are ”Anti EMA” (Would you turn it Down if you could get it?) it costs me £30 a week to get to college anyway so Im only breaking even (When I actually get it)

Hang_my_heart “it’s a bonus – it’s not “your £100″. Your teacher doesn’t have to give it to you and if it didn’t matter enough to you to get the form in before the very last minute then you probably don’t need/deserve it. The bonus part of EMA is ridiculous anyway – how can you give someone money for going to college (to benefit themselves) and then give them more money because they’ve actually done the thing they’re getting money for in the first place??? It’s like my employer giving me extra money for actually showing up!”

Mekko29: Last year we got to set our own EMA targets and one of mine was to underline my titles and bam got £100 just for stupid targets like that, its a bit of a flawed system and i always get abuse from my college mates because they arn’t elligable for it.

and then the thread fizzles out, on 14 January 2010, after 75 posts in 3 days.

EMA is a hot topic: illage started yet another EMA discussion going last week with “Do we get out EMA bonus on the 29th January?” Monalisa has the 166th post so far.

My conclusion? Many young people regard EMA  with deep suspicion.  The seemingly arbitrary and personalised way in which it is dispensed outrages some; others are appreciative of the support it provides.

And all the spectrum of the british class system is on display – from looking down your nose to cocking your snook.

February 8, 2010 - Posted by | attitudes, young people | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

